Donate/Join the KBA

2021 
CALENDAR OF EVENTS

~ OPEN ~

April 10 through October 31, 2021

Saturdays, Sundays, Federal Holidays and 

Anniversaries of Key Battles

HOURS:  10am ~ 4pm


Guided Battlefield & Pritchard House Tours

Every Saturday and Sunday 

April 10 through October


OPEN OTHER DAYS YEAR-ROUND BY APPOINTMENT

Email or call:

kba@kernstownbattle.org

540-450-7538


Sun, Feb 7 Shenandoah University Cross-Country Races

Tue, Mar 23 159th Anniversary of the First Battle of Kernstown
10am-4pm

Sat, Mar 27 First Battle of Kernstown walking tour with Gary Ecelbarger,
author of "We Are In For It! The First Battle of Kernstown"

Mon, Mar 30 John Handley High School tri-school cross-country meet with
4pm Sherando and Millwood High Schools

Sat, Apr 10 SEASON OPENING WEEKEND
10pm-4pm Civil War Park Day 2021 (Volunteer work day)

Sat, Apr 17 First Battle of Kernstown walking and driving tour conducted by 
10am–3pm KBA Docents Mike Cannane and Larry Turner
  A comprehensive tour featuring points of interest beginning at the
Kernstown Battlefield property and including key points near old town
Winchester, the Opequon Church, Jackson's Lookout on Apple Valley
Road, Sandy Ridge and Rose Hill where the battle concluded. 

Sun, May 9 National Park Service presentation –
1pm-2pm "1862 in a Box"

Sat-Sun 158th Anniversary of the Second Battle of Winchester
Jun 12-13 21st Virginia Infantry Living History – all weekend
10am-4pm daily
--Sun, Jun 13 Second Battle of Winchester Battlefield Walking Tour 
  10am-2pm with author Jerry Holsworth
--Sun Jun 13 National Park Service presentation –
  1pm-2pm "1864 in a Box"

Sun, Jul 11 National Park Service presentation –
1pm-2pm "1862 in a Box"

Fri, Jul 23 157th Anniversary of the Second Battle of Kernstown
10am-4pm

Sat-Sun 157th Anniversary of the Second Battle of Kernstown
Jul 24-25 10am-4pm daily
--Sat, Jul 24 Second Battle of Kernstown Walking and Driving Tour 
  10am-2pm conducted by Scott Patchan, author of "Shenandoah Summer"

Sun, Aug 8 National Park Service presentation –
1pm-2pm "1864 in a Box"

Sun, Sep 12 National Park Service presentation –
1pm-2pm "1862 in a Box"

Sat, Sep 25 Hornet Harrier Invitational Cross-Country Tournament
Time TBD hosted by Shenandoah University

Sat, Oct 2 Judges Classic Cross-Country Tournament
Time TBD hosted by John Handley High School

Sat, Oct 9 Kernstown Battlefield Association Annual Membership Meeting
Noon-4pm (Program to be announced)

Sun, Oct 10 National Park Service presentation –
1pm-2pm "1864 in a Box"

Sat-Sun CLOSING WEEKEND at Kernstown Battlefield
Oct 30-31 10am-4pm daily

Sat, Nov 6 Battlefield Half Marathon, organized by the Winchester/Frederick 
County Parks & Recreation Dept.

Sat-Sun "Follow the Star" – a Seven-Station Living Nativity program presented 
by the Fellowship Bible Church of Winchester
(subject to Cover-19 restrictions)